Thomas White

anonymous

Twists and Turns
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2023
Verified Purchase

The Siren's Scream is a brilliant horror story, and it is unpretentious about its thematic presentation. White does not distract himself or the reader with distractions from other ambiguous elements. We are following the life of Henry Childs, whose new property has a tide pool, with a vengeful siren lurking around. The characterization was fabulous - be it of Henry, his mom Edith, or Darcy. The plot was engaging, and the pacing was perfect, which both make the book unputdownable. For lovers of supernatural and horror genres, this book is a splendid treat. My thanks to White, the publishers Savvy Books, and Dorothy from PUYB, for gifting me with a copy of this book.

Carol B

Twists and Turns
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on June 1, 2010
Verified Purchase

Justice Rules is a definite page turner; always keeping you guessing as to what might come next.

The story begins as Brian Wylie; tenured FBI Investigator is arriving at the scene of a gruesome murder at a remote, abandoned cabin in the Pacific North West. Wylie a "city boy" has an unfounded terror of woods and the creatures that inhabit them. Mr. White does an excellent job of letting the reader feel his terror. This is just the first in a series of murders that span 20 years or more and Wylie and his teenage daughter get caught up in the middle of it.

This is not a cut and dry case of murder, per say. Each act has been carried out in vengeance on people who due to one loophole or another, fell through our justice system and it's the only way that some of the victims feel they can finally live in peace. So, are the murderers really the bad guys? Do 2 wrongs make a right? Again, Mr. White delves into the feelings of all of the participants, from those carrying out the murders to Brian Wylie's questioning himself when horrible things come his way, could he really take the law into his own hands?

An excellent read for first time author Thomas White. I would highly recommend this to anyone who does not necessary see the world in black and white, but wonders about those gray areas in between.

Tina

Great Plot
4/5
Reviewed in the United States on November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase

I discovered this book thru a facebook link and decided to check book reviews on Amazon. It is always suspicious when there is nothing under a 4 star rating -- that's when I count the number of reviewers to discount approx ten family members giving it a 5 (yeah, I admit it, I'm a cynic). This book is outside my usual genre (paranormal, urban fantasy), but its not unusual for me to discover a good book review and read something outside my box.

The book is good-- great if you consider its a first book. I don't agree with many of the Amazon reviews that describe the wonderful character development, but I found something better, in my humble opinion anyway... a fresh plot. And Not just a fresh plot idea, but one that is developed really well over the course of the book. Dialog is snappy through the first few chapters, then calms down (but thankfully doesn't disappear) as the story gains complexity (and you've gotta love the enthusiasm of the computer geeks in the FBI computer lab). The writer has a firm handle on using descriptive language to visually pull you in to the story line.

Kent Bolin

A Gift that was really a Gift
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on February 6, 2023
Verified Purchase

Received this book as a gift from a friend who gave it very high marks. As a huge fan of Homer and like Odysseus, have heard more than my fair share of siren's and screams...so I figured why not and dove into it. I mean - great title!

Read it nonstop. Was traveling/camping and this book put a cog in my timeline. (Was not on my way to Ithaca).

Turned out to be a delightfully fun gift that kept me surprised. While not the same storyline as the Odyssey, Mr. White's 'Siren's Scream' will keep you entertained...and you won't have to tie yourself to a mast while reading

Raymond James Cardi

"Justice Rules" Rocks!
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on May 24, 2010
Verified Purchase

Thomas White is going right to the top with "Justice Rules." The character of Brian Wylie will be joining the ranks of Alex Cross, Jack Reacher, and Lucas Davenport. Wylie relocates in Spokane from Los Angeles and dives right into solving a bizarre murder that takes him from the city to the mountains and winding up and down an avenue of clues. Loved every minute of the ride. White writes with a smooth, easy and thrilling style. I cannot wait for more from this guy. I already added him on my site with the best of this genre.

Candess M. Campbell, PhD

Great Read!
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase

Recently I have been binging on mystery novels and I was delighted to find this one. It is a great read, moves quickly and is tightly written. The characters are memorable and as soon as I turned the last page, I looked to see if Thomas White had written a series with the same main character. Sadly, not yet. I especially enjoyed Justice Rules being written in Spokane, a city I know well and laughed out loud when one person in the book was referred to as "too Spokane." My preference is on the wimpy side of thriller and at times it was a little more graphic than I like, but the story was so good I moved through quickly and loved the book anyway. This book would make a great movie!

tapkid21

Justice Rules
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase

This was a fabulous mystery. It held my attention from page one till the finish. The characters were well defined and I felt like I knew them all by the end of the book. I read it on my Kindle and it was hard to put down. Read it! You'll love it.

BecAl

Excellent debut!
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on August 2, 2010
Verified Purchase

I downloaded this book and read it in a couple of days. The suspense kept me turning the pages and kept me from putting the book down. The character development of the main character, Brian, really makes me feel like I know him. I cannot wait to read the next book. I was really surprised by many of the twists at the end. I would recommend this book to everyone I know who loves a good mystery!

JDKISBACk

Must Read!!!
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase

I couldn't put it down! Very well written and suspenseful! If you like murder mysteries, you will love this book! Hope this writer writes another book!

D. Marcusson

Great book, definitely a page turner and fully engrossed ...
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on May 20, 2018
Verified Purchase

Great book, definitely a page turner and fully engrossed in the story. Looking forward to next book from Thomas White.

Stebonie

A genuine page turner....
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on April 3, 2011
Verified Purchase

Justice Rules is a fast and furious read. I could not anticipate where it was going. Please Sir, I want some more......

Nicole E Frederick

Great Book -- Hard to put down
5/5
Reviewed in the United States on August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase

A great book. I hope the writer continues writing more books, since this one was great. I found it hard to put down, so my only recommendation would be to get plenty of sleep ahead of time, since you might be up late with this one.

Rudy Flores

Fun, unexpected, riveting and plenty of twists and turns.
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on December 24, 2022
Verified Purchase

I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised and didn't want to put it down after I started it. Def a good read.

Liliyana

This book will absolutely give you chills
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on December 19, 2022
Verified Purchase

This book will absolutely give you chills - so make sure you have a warm drink and are somewhere nice, cozy, and lit before you start reading. There's a little mystery, a little horror, and a touch of the paranormal in this captivating story. You get drawn in so quickly, and the plot moves along at a smooth pace. There were enough twists to keep you guessing right up to the end. This was one of those stories that will have you come up gasping for air because you're holding your breath waiting to see what's going to happen next to the characters. Highly recommend!

Stebonie

Great Mystery/Horror Read!
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on December 24, 2022
Verified Purchase

THE SIREN'S SCREAM is a fast, fun, jump out of your chair read with lots of plot twists and turns. I really liked Thomas White's first novel, JUSTICE RULES. With the publication of his second I'm a fan for life. He might even be my new favorite author. I LOVED THE SIREN'S SCREAM. No spoilers from me. Buy it. You'll thank me later!

Rachal Robinson

Loved it
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on January 10, 2023
Verified Purchase

Fantastic fast paced read. You wonโ€™t want to put it down.

Stephen

twist and turns
5/5
Reviewed in the United States ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ on December 31, 2022
Verified Purchase

Great character development, lots of set up that keep you turning the pages

Allan Spivak

Hard to put down
5/5
Reviewed in Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ on December 22, 2022
Verified Purchase

Fast paced, scary and captivating. You will enjoy this read just watch out for the creature in your dreams. She is very real. Loved the story. Great work Thomas